What are the Stages of Alzheimer’s?

Alzheimer’s is a devastating disease that attacks a person’s memory, independence, and body control. It has been said that there are three stages to the disease: mild, moderate, and severe. However, this breakdown is a bit too simple. So how many stages of Alzheimer’s are there? 

Many have argued that there are closer to seven stages of Alzheimer’s, each with its distinct traits and difficulties. Read on for Capital Caring’s complete breakdown of the stages of Alzheimer’s, based on the seven-stage model.

Stage One: No Symptoms Seen

In stage one of Alzheimer’s, there will be no signs on the outside. Consider someone with no symptoms of Alzheimer’s to be in phase one of the process. Someone could be in this stage for more than a decade before anything clearly begins to take hold.

Stage Two: Very Mild Symptoms

Stage two is where more clear symptoms of Alzheimer’s will begin to show, but nothing severe enough to halt someone’s ability to function in daily life without assistance. Relatives and associates will often assume that someone in this early stage of Alzheimer’s is merely getting older and losing their memories as a normal part of aging.

Stage Three: Noticeable Difficulties

In the third stage of Alzheimer’s, noticeable memory deficiencies will begin to appear. For the moment, the only symptom is memory loss, and most people in stage three can continue to live relatively normal lives. After stage three, the symptoms start to become a bit more debilitating.

Stage Four: More Than Memory Loss

In stage four, people living with Alzheimer’s may begin to lose more than just their memory. The ability to function as if everything is normal and healthy will start to erode. Those in stage four are prone to get lost, lose focus, and have more difficulty moving around independently.

Stage Five: Losing Independence

The effects of stage four become more severe during stage five, in which many sufferers will begin to lose their independence. Someone in stage five will be unable to perform many tasks that are considered routine, such as making transactions in a store. At this point, family members should step in and consider assisted living.

A black-and-white photo of a crying woman

Stage Six: Severe Decline

Stage six of Alzheimer’s is where an even more severe cognitive and physical decline will occur. Other side effects of the disease, such as hallucinations, have been brought up about stage six. This is perhaps the steepest drop in cognitive ability among the seven stages.

Stage Seven: Lack of Control

In stage seven, the sufferer will have a nearly complete lack of control of their memory and cognitive functions. Assisted living or hospice care will be essential at this point in the process, and those living with Alzheimer’s may require around-the-clock care. Unfortunately, the lack of control associated with stage seven of Alzheimer’s is irreversible and can only be managed.

Give Capital Caring a Call

Capital Caring can help those who are suffering from Alzheimer’s. If you or a loved one suspects that someone close is in the process of battling Alzheimer’s, do not wait to act. Most stages past stage three will require some level of care, and Capital Caring can help keep you or your loved one comfortable and accounted for. Call us today with any questions you may have.

Reach out to one of our care experts today.